Saraki Bukola

Buhari seeks Senate’s nod on INEC, NPC commissioners

President Muhammadu Buhari yesterday wrote to the Senate seeking the confirmation of six commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and  five commissioners of the National Population Commission (NPC).

The Senate President, Bukola Saraki, read two letters from Buhari at yesterday’s sitting regarding the confirmation.

Buhari in the letters said he sought the confirmation in line with Section 154 (1) of the 1999 Constitution.

The commissioners are; Mohammed Haruna (North-central); retired AVM Ahmed Tijani Mu’azu (North-east); Eng. Abubakar Nahuche (North-west); Professor Okechukwu Ibeano (South-east); May Agbamuche Mbu, (South-south) and Dr Adekunle Ladipo Ogunmola (South-west).

The NPC commissioners are; Dr Eyitayo Oyetunji (Oyo State)  Barrister Patricia Iyaya (Benue)  Benedict Ukpong(Akwa Ibom) Dr Halu Bala (Kebbi) and Gloria Isofo( Bayelsa).

The Council of State had weeks ago ratified the appointments of the commissioners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *