Perm sec

59 directors await decision on 20 permsec slots

Fifty nine of the 78 Federal directors that scaled the Computer Based Test (CBT) on Wednesday were yesterday screened by a panel in the final phase of the assessment for appointment as permanent secretaries.

Our source reports that 19 of the directors failed the CBT and joined 222, who were earlier dropped after the first written test.

The successful directors were yesterday screened at the Office of Head of Service of the Federation (OHoCSF), during the “Oral Interview/Interactive Session.”

Our correspondent who was at the venue of the interview, reports that the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation (HoCSF) Mrs Winifred Oyo-Ita, led the technical committee and other federal serving and retired officials in the exercise.

Also present at the exercise were; the acting Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) Dr Habiba Muda Lawal; the acting chairman of the Federal Civil Service Commission (FCSC) Mr Joseph Olufemi Akande, and the PS Career Management Office (CMO) in the Office of Head of Service, Dr Folasade Yemi-Esan, whose office organised the exercise.

Some retired top civil servants seen at the centre include; Ambassador Bulus Lolo, Alhaji Isa Bello Sali, and Ambassador B. Owoseni among others.

Before yesterday’s exercise the initial 300 shortlists had sat for the examination on “Relevant Public Service and Policy Issues” held at the National Defence College (NDC) Auditorium, Abuja on Monday.

The directors are to be permanent secretaries representing 19 states and the FCT. The states are; Abia, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bayelsa, Cross-River, Delta, Edo, Ekiti, Imo, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Lagos, Nasarawa, Ogun, Ondo, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto and the FCT.

The Senate through its committee on Establishment and Public Service is however investigating the process, after a point of order was raised by Senator Philip Aduda (PDP, FCT) on exclusion of three directors, who sat for the examination from the FCT.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *